BOOK TALKS

Book Wrap-Up – June 2017

Hi guys,

for once after a very long time I am on time with my “Read in…” posts, yeah! Hope you enjoy it because I managed to read more books this month!

Read books

wrap-up-june-2017-banner

  1. Pirate Wars by Kai Meyer
  2. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
  3. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
  4. Absolutely Stationary Design by Sandu Cultural Media (Editor)
  5. The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter
  6. Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves

Apparently I haven’t written any full review this month. Probably I wasn’t feeling it with these books. For Alice, I felt like it was so common that a review wasn’t especially necessary. With the other ones, I felt like they were so average that it could have been the same review over and over again. Apart from the Absolutely Stationary Design book, this has been a collection of Design projects written out with pictures to look at. BUT since I haven’t done a full review on any of them, I try and write a short review for every one of them now 🙂

Pirate Wars Kai Meyer

Pirate Wars by Kai Meyer
3 out of 5 stars

This is the third and last installment of the Pirate Curse books. I have rambled about the first two parts in my Read in May wrap up. This one has been worse than the first two books before, it felt so monotone for me and full of fights I have flown over while reading because boring. Kids or early teens might enjoy it though. In this one, Jolly and Muck have to go deep down the ocean to fight against the Malestrom to stop the war that’s been starting between pirates and evil creatures.

alice's adventures in wonderland lewis carroll

Alice’s in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
4 out of 5 stars

For my challenge I only have read the first part of Alice, minus Through the Looking Glass. I’ve tried to read it a few times before but it always has started a bit exhausting to read. Pushing past the part I found exhausting, it was pretty entertaining and the writing style felt special because it felt like whatever Lewis Carroll was thinking during writing, it was written down. Alice in Wonderland is about a little girl called Alice, who followed a rabbit into the rabbit hole and fell down a room with a door, which opens up to Wonderland, with all it’s creatures, kings and queens as well as the Hatter.

uglies scott westerfeld

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
3 out of 5 stars

A book whose fourth books, Extras, I’ve read seven years ago during my High School Year in the US for an assignment. That’s how long I’ve procastinated to read Uglies. It just never came up. Seven years ago and further it was so hyped.
Uglies is an YA dystopian novel in which every girl, once turned seventeen, gets a surgery to turn pretty and move to New Pretty Town. Our heroine, Tally Youngblood, wishes for nothing more than to turn seventeen and move to that town to be with her best friend, who had the surgery a few months earlier. But complications arise and Tally has to follow a new friend of hers to the outside to get her back in order to turn pretty. There she mets other outcasts and realizes that maybe, turning pretty isn’t that important in life.
It was read as an very average YA book following the YA rules, although I think that Scott Westerfeld set the rules and I’m just a few years too late for the party. I liked the concept of Uglies, although the action/drama in this book could have been a bit more twisty. So, I had a feeling of knowing what would happen and how Tally would act.

absolute stationary design

Absolutely Stationary Design by Sandu Cultural Media (Editor)
4 out of 5 stars

A collection of Stationary Design projects, added with description and pictures. There have been a lot of pretty designs and a few I didn’t quite understand why they exactly were so special, but that’s just a taste thing. There has been a company included I knew from my research back then when I was searching for a job as a Designer, so that’s cool that Austria was represented in that book.

the goddess test aimee carter

The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter
3 out of 5 stars

A modern greek mythology YA novel with an uneventful plot and a Mary Sue as a main character. The blurb of this book has read itself to be more special, otherwise I wouldn’t have picked it up to be in my challenge.
Kate moves with her dying mother from New York to a small, no name town called Eden, where she enrolls at the local High School as a student. Ava, the popular girl in High School, invited her to a bonfire, at which Ava dumps Kate and Ava nearly kills herself by accident. In that process, mysterious Henry appears and heals Ava in exchange of Kate living with him for fall and winter, just like Persephone. Turn out that Henry is Hades and has put Kate in for a test to become his wife or else Ava and Kate’s mother die and Henry fades into nothingness. Of course Kate doesn’t want that to happen and starts to play with Henry’s rules.
This is weirdly shippable and stupid at the same time. Kate is such a Mary Sue, basically the best and most perfect person in the world. She acts so innocent and holy it’s annoying. Greek Mythology gets butchered here, I’m gonna stay with Percy Jackson. the ending was a joke because oh my the revelation of the Greek Gods was so basic and expected after some time.

blood rose rebellion rosalyn eves

Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves
3 out of 5 stars

Apparently I keep falling into the Mary Sue trap, because the Blood Rose Rebellion heroine Anna felt like one as well. Personally putting herself down, on the other hand everyone want so to be friends with her and are super supportive. The thing about this is that at no point Anna was read like she actually could be something special at some point.
In Victorian England, where magic is only allowed to the priviledged, Anna Arden finds herself to be a Barren, a person with no magic at all. When by accident breaking a spell at her sister’s debutante, Anna gets sent away with her grandmother to Austria-Hungary, where the Hapsburger control all the magic and in which the Hungarian people want to be seperated from Austria. Anna meets Garbór, an Romani who tells her that originally everyone is able to draw magic and that the binding spell from the Luminées keep people from using magic. Next to the rebellion from the Hungarian citizen, Anna tries to break the binding spell, not knowing if it’s such a good idea to free the dark creatures being held within the spell.

Anna gets stuff done, no matter how complicated the task is! Everyone is willing to die for her and nearly every boy is kissing her she meets. Because she only wants love and maybe a successfull rebellion as well. I’m being bitter about this book because it sounded so promising and the Austrian-Hungary setting is so cool! Yay, magic for Vienna! Even if the part where Anna has been in Vienna was nasty, since apparently Austrian people are very judgy about non-magic people. That’s the Viennese vibe y’all. Totally real.

Reading Challenges

Popsugar Reading Challenge: 19/30
Popsugar Reading Challenge Advanced: 5/12
Personal Challenge: 8/13
Goodreads Challenge: 31/60

Which means, I have 18 books left to complete the whole Popsugar Challenge. 5 are missing to complete my personal challenge and 29 are left until I completed the Goodreads Challenge. This is doable I guess 😀

Blogs to follow

Since I have been more active on my blog when it comes to commenting on other blogs, here are some blogs I have enjoyed lately (overuse of bloooog):

And as always:

Books I want to read in July

I try to cross out few of my Reading Challenges books, since there aren’t too many left! Enough to not get bored for sure, yet there ain’t the freedom of a wide range anymore.

  1. Emma by Jane Austen
  2. Watership Down by
  3. A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
  4. One Flew over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey

I don’t know if I’m going to manage all of them since Emma is a paperback book which I definitely won’t bring to all my train rides, so this might end up being a setback. Anyways I’m pretty excited to read A Clockwork Orange and One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest! Has anyone read them yet?


So that has been my June wrap-up and I’m excited to see what July will bring!

xo Annina

blattzirkus-banner

| Book Cover are from Goodreads & banner is by Blattzirkus|

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

