BOOK TALKS

Books read in May 2017

Hi guys,

late as ever and even in the middle of my ‘Books read in June’ post, here I got my list of books I’ve read in May! It’s been my ultimate low, since I haven’t really read books I wanted to read badly (well except Into the Water by Paula Hawkins)

read-in-may-2017

  1. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee (Full Review)
  2. Pirate Curse by Kai Meyer
  3. Pirate Emperor by Kai Meyer
  4. Into the Water by Paula Hawkins (Full Review)

Well I actually wanted to write reviews for Pirate Curse and Pirate Emperor as well – even started to – but I did not really feel for it. I didn’t have enough to say for a full review, so short one’s have to do it here!

favorite

To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee (Full Review here)

Without a doubt this has been my favorite of all the books I have read in May! It’s such an important story about being kind and open to each other whilst posting important questions, I really loved it. The story is told by Louise “Scout” Finch, a first 6-year old girl living in the south of the US, Alabama. She witnesses the trial of African-American man Tom Robinson who was falsely accused of raping a 19-year old girl. The writing style was easy to read, since a 6-year old was witnessing it all, yet smart. Which is the absolutely right writing style for this book.

least-favorite

Pirate Emperor by Kai Meyer

This was the sequel of Pirate Curse and rather slow as well (not as slow as the last one, Pirate Wars, but we will get to that next month). Overall, the series is about Jolly, a 14-year old pirate girl, who can walk on water. When her pirate crew, basically the family that adopted her, get killed by a bunch of poisonous spiders that were hidden due to a trap, Jolly discovers that there is more to her walking on water ability. She has to defeat the Malstrom, a dark power living in the sea, with another boy who got the same ability as her.

Pirate Emperor basically was about her training the defeat the evil power for Pirate Wars and finding out about the most evil pirate out there who recruited tons of cannibals for his cause. Personally, it was a nice read, but obviously not in my target range anymore. Very German-Young Adult like written. I’ve complained about that in my review for Battle Island.

So why was I reading this series after all if I was thinking that this series was not for my target range anymore? Well, when I was 11-years old I really wanted to have Pirate Wars, only to discover at home that it was the third installment of a trilogy. Until this year, I haven’t thought of getting the first two books if my own challenge wasn’t there to get rid of my pile of unread books. Tadaaa! 🙂


Some things left to say about Pirate Curse and Into the Water 

Pirate Curse was so far the best book out of the Pirate Curse installment, since it set up everything and had the most varied action in it. Into the Water was a nice change to read after the Young Adult pirate books, yet it felt a little bit slow although the setting has been creepy.

banner-challenges.png

Popsugar Reading Challenge: 17/30
Popsugar Reading Challenge Advanced: 4/12
Personal Challenge: 6/13

Total Books read:
Goodreads Challenge: 24/60


That said, let’s see what June will bring 🙂

xo Annina

blog-footer

| Books in the header are from Goodreads |

 

Leave a Reply

