BOOK TALKS

Read in January 2017 (+Reviews!)

read-in-january-2017.png

Hi guys,

and suddenly the first month of the new year is over. By a miracle I actually managed to read books (like I mentioned in my December 2016 post, I’ve been on vacation and sick, but not at the same time). Here are they:

  1. Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick (Audiobook, though)
  2. The Walking Dead Vol. 27: The Whisperer War by Robert Kirkman
  3. A Dangerous Fortune by Ken Follett
  4. Fantastic Beasts and Where to find them – Screenplay by J.K.Rowling

I’ve stayed true to myself and only read books so far that are relevant for my challenges. And yes, that’s a hard thing to do because Goodreads and Twitter exist and tempt you to buy books you don’t really need.

Here are my short reviews for them since it has been too long since I’ve read them:


scrappy little nobody.jpg

Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick
5 out of 5 stars

I’ve started this audiobook on my flight to Miami, so this has been a great thing to do when you are tired and don’t want to actually read (with your eyes being already exhausted from watching too many movies, I know no limits). I liked it more than expected. Anna told her stories in a really quirky and relatable way, so you feel connected to her even if acting isn’t your profession. You still learn things and foremost, that people are more down to earth and normal than you’ll guess. She started with her childhood stories, going over chronology until her most current moment (aka currently writing her book). The red line has been obviously her acting career, so that’s been a nice thing as well, especially when she told her backstage story of being an Oscar nominee.


the-walking-dead-27

The Walking Dead Vol.27: The Whisperer War by Robert Kirkman
4 out of 5 stars

Technically the volume isn’t out but the comics that are bound in this volume, so I counted it as reading it. There’s a war going on with a group at the moment that isn’t even mentioned yet in the TV series. There’s a lot going on and information revealed about Negan, so it has been a cool volume. I’m still pissed that they aren’t looking actively for a cure though.


a-dangerous-fortune

A Dangerous Fortune by Ken Follett
4 out of 5 stars

I liked this book FAR MORE than expected! It had a touch of Game of Thrones with all the intrigues going on, yet that book had a touch of romance flair that kept me going and hoping for having an happy ending. Basically it’s about the uprise and fall of the Bank Pilaster, circling around Hugh Pilaster whose father committed suicide when his first bank went bankrupt. Hugh got the news after a tragic accident at his boarding school, in which a school mate, Peter Middleton, drowned in a swimming lake. It was forbidden to swim in that lake and the only witnesses to that tragedy were Hugh, Micky Miranda (another school mate) and Hugh’s cousin Edward Pilaster. But since Hugh knows that Peter couldn’t have been drowned since he has been a very good swimmer, there must have been someone killing him. This mystery goes through the years, up to when Hugh is grown up and one of the best bankers in his industry.


fantastic-beasts-screenplay

Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them by J.K.Rowling
5 out of 5 stars

Yes, it is just the screenplay. I have read the actual short novel as well, which is basically an encyclopedia of beasts and creatures swarming the Harry Potter universe. Thinking of building a world around it AND covering the back story of Harry Potter at once, is a nice idea actually. I still hope that they make it that far to show some Marauder time as well.
So the script made me appreciate the movie far more and made me notice far more details. I wasn’t a great fan of the Fantastic Beasts movie, the whole film was just building for the second film and I hate it when that happens. It has been a super good thing to be back in my favorite fictional world, but yeah. The first movie could have been a bit more surprising. Personally I think it lacks a bit of magic (not the literal kind).
It’s about Newt Scamander, former Hufflepuff Hogwarts student traveling the world in search of beasts and how to save them. When arriving in New York, he stumbles upon a force of magic that needs to be contained before it destroys the city.


I hope you liked this post and the short summaries I gave of the books. Sorry for being so late with those this year 🙂

Popsugar Reading Challenge: 2/30
Popsugar Reading Challenge Advanced: 1/12
Personal Challenge: 1/13
Goodreads Challenge: 4/60

xo Annina

Also visit me on Facebook, TwitterInstagram and Goodreads 🙂 !

blog-footer


| The covers are from goodreads |

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

