BOOK TALKS

My books for the Popsugar Reading Challenge 2017!

Hi guys,

a new year is around the corner and that usually means that a new book challenge by Popsugar is on its way as well! I found it quite hard this year to find books for it since I’m quite the digital reader and recommendations either come from friends, blogger or from goodreads.

This time Popsugar decided to make a, what I call, normal challenge section and an advanced section for hardcore people out there. I selected books for both challenges although I reaaaally don’t know if I will manage them all. Let’s see and start with the normal section!

popsugar17_challenges

  • A book recommended by a librarian: Faithful by Alice Hoffman. I got it recommended on goodreads, close enough for a librarian.
  • A book that’s been on your TBR list for way too long: Pirate Wars by Kai Meyer. This has been literally years on my list since I first bought this in primary school and didn’t realize that it’s the third book of a trilogy.
  • A book of letters: Love, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern.
  • An audiobook: Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick.
  • A book by a person of color: Mom & Me & Mom by Maya Angelou.
  • A bestseller from a genre you don’t normally read: Mom & Me & Mom by Maya Angelou. I don’t usually read autobiographies.
  • A book about an interesting woman: Mom & Me & Mom by Maya Angelou.
  • A book involving travel: The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell.
  • A book you bought on a trip: The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell.
  • A book with a subtitle: The Walking Dead Vol. 27 by Robert Kirkman.
  • A book involving a mythical creature: The Walking Dead Vol.27 by Robert Kirkman.
  • A novel set during wartime: The Walking Dead Vol.27 by Robert Kirkman.
  • A book with pictures: The Walking Dead Vol.27 by Robert Kirkman.
  • A book that’s published in 2017: Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves.
  • A book by an author from a country you’ve never visited: Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves. Hungary is a country I haven’t visited yet.
  • A Book you’ve read before that never fails to make you smile: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K.Rowling.
  • A book you loved as a child: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K.Rowling.
  • A book with a title that’s a character’s name: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K.Rowling.
  • A book set in the wilderness: Life of Pi. by Yann Martel.
  • A book with a cat on the cover: Life of Pi by Yann Martel.

popsugar17_challenges2

And here are my chosen books for the advanced section:

popsugar17_challenges3

  • A book recommended by an author you love: Emma by Jane Austen. It got recommended once by J.K. Rowling
  • A bestseller from 2016: Paris for One and Other Stories by Jojo Moyes. It has been a bestseller in my homecountry Austria at the bookstore Thalia.
  • A book with a family-member term in the title: Mom & Me & Mom by Maya Angelou. It is already in the section for the normal book challenge, but it’s just so fitting for this challenge.
  • A book that takes place over a character’s life span: The Curious Case of Benjamin Button by F.Scott Fitzgerald.
  • A book about an immigrant or refugee: Little Bee by Chris Cleave.
  • A book from a genre/subgenre that you’ve never heard of: The Participatory Museum by Nina Simon. The genre this is listed on goodreads is called Museology.
  • A book with an eccentric character: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. Obviously.
  • A book that’s more than 800 pages: Outlander  by Diana Gabaldon. At least my edition has over 1000 pages.
  • A book you got from a used book sale: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. The Original Screenplay by J.K.Rowling. Well I got it at a book sale minus the used, since I can’t stand used books. The thought counts.
  • A book that’s been mentioned in another book: The Princess Bride by William Goldman. It is mentioned in Inkheart by Cornelia Funke, which I have read a few years back.
  • A book about a difficult topic: How To Be a Woman by Caitlin Moran. I stumbled over this book on MissGetaway‘s blog! I think that Feminism is a difficult topic in 2016 although it should not be and that there needs to be more awareness of it.
  • A book based on mythology: Goddess Test by Aimee Carter. This was a tricky one since I’ve read the most known book based on mythology already: the Percy Jackson series and the sequel series.

And here’s the Challenge sheet from Popsugar. Over there you will find a printable version as well (so it fits well on an DIN A4 sheet).

dc049a522d84b84f_ps16_jp_living_2017readingchallenge_list_r2


What are your books for the Popsugar Reading Challenge 2017? Will you participate in it? If not, do you have any books you plan to read in 2017? I’m curious! 🙂

xo Annina

Also visit me on Facebook, TwitterInstagram and Goodreads 🙂 !

blog-footer

(i) The Amazon Links are affiliated Links. I guessed this was the easiest way to establish a store where you can go and buy a book if you are interested in it plus it makes me literally just some cents. Yes I got greedy and I’m gonna bath in my ten 5 cent pieces. You’re welcome.
| The covers are taken from goodreads.com / the Popsugar Reading Challenge 2017 sheet is taken from popsugar.com |
One thought on “My books for the Popsugar Reading Challenge 2017!

Leave a Reply

