REVIEW

Review: The Epic Adventures of Lydia Bennet by Kate Rorick and Rachel Kiley

banner-lydia-bennet

Hi guys,

as I have mentioned in my review for the prequel of this book, The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet, I simply love the webseries The Lizzie Bennet Diaries. If you haven’t seen this amazing show – or have read the book – you definitely have to because else you will be spoilered here.

the epic adventures.jpg

Book Information

Title: The Epic Adventures of Lydia Bennet
Author: Kate Rorick, Rachel Kiley
Pages: 336 pages
Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult, Fiction
Price: 12,03€

Publisher: Touchstone
Published on: September 29th 2015
Buy on Amazon

Plot

After everything Lydia Bennet has been through, she thought she learned out of her mistakes and do better in the second go. Deciding to leave old Lydia behind, she inscribes at college for a Psychology degree in San Francisco and is determined to meet her acquirements by finishing community college. But as life always has other plans as thought, San Francisco doesn’t end up being an option as Lydia slowly falls back to her old, harmful self, spiraling down into a dark, self-destructive hole. But Lydia wouldn’t be Lydia if she wouldn’t decide that a non-fun, non-glittery life isn’t her idea of future.

Opinion

I mainly bought this book because I wanted closure on The Lizzie Bennet Diaries. Lydia was never my favorite character, so I kind of doubted I would like this book too much.But I was wrong since Lydia is now the main character and she shows so much more depth and personality than in the books. You got a pretty good idea of Lydia in the first book, no doubt, but you never really have dealt with her that much because you never had the insights like the one you had with Lizzie.

So naturally after the whole incident and drama towards the end of Book One, you start off with The Epic Adventures of Lydia Bennet finding a destroyed Lydia. Okay, not totally destroyed but her mindset has changed a lot. Even after all the mistakes she makes in this one, the reader just knows that this isn’t the same Lydia as in the past events. She can deal with problems much better and more in an adult way, even if it takes some time.

And because she calmed down a bit, I started to like her more, I guess. Mainly because I started to get her more. The writing style helped too since it’s very much a Lizzie Bennet Diaries style. Also because some other characters appear that made my heart jump because I simply love them all. Well almost all of them, but that series simply grew on me.

One thing I can’t quite agree on in this book is the title. The Epic Adventures of Lydia Bennet implies to the reader for having a super fun Lydia Bennet having super epic, different adventures when it’s simply a darker Lydia dealing with the aftermath of George Wickham. That’s one good adventure, yet it’s probably not that kind of adventure most of the readers might expect.

And that’s a good thing because this story has an plot, not randomly chosen adventures lined up. Good for the reader and good for the book.

Conclusion

After all, I still give The Epic Adventures of Lydia Bennet 5 out of 5 stars because I enjoyed it loads and quite surprised me as well. Can we have a Jane Bennet book now, please?

xo Annina

Also visit me on Facebook, TwitterInstagram and Goodreads 🙂 !

unterschrift

(i) The Amazon Links are affiliated Links. I guessed this was the easiest way to establish a store where you can go and buy a book if you are interested in it plus it makes me literally just some cents. Yes I got greedy and I’m gonna bath in my ten 5 cent pieces. You’re welcome.


The Cover is from goodreads.com

One thought on “Review: The Epic Adventures of Lydia Bennet by Kate Rorick and Rachel Kiley

Leave a Reply

