REVIEW

Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K.Rowling and Jack Thorne

hpcs

Hi guys,

oh how long I have been waiting for this and I was so eager not to see spoilers. Which I didn’t. Technically. Because I thought they were wrong rumors. But more about that later!

hp cursed child.jpg

Book Information
Pages: 343
Publisher: Little, Brown
Price: 19,99€ (Hardcover)
Buy on Amazon

image

Plot

It’s been 19 years since the Battle of Hogwarts took place and it’s time for Harry Potter’s middle child Albus Severus to board the Hogwarts Express for the very first time. We basically read the last chapter of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows in play form. Albus struggles with the peer pressure that Harry Potter is his father and got a huge legacy to live up with. He befriends himself with Scorpius Malfoy, son of Draco Malfoy and former nemesis of Harry. Either Harry or Draco want these two to become friends, which both boys can’t really understand.

Years pass and Albus gets angrier and more frustrated with his father. He can’t connect with his father and fails to understand him. The same is going on with Harry since he never had parents and therefore has problems with his difficult son being, well, difficult. If having an angry son wouldn’t be hard enough on Harry, a time turner appears after a raiding lead by Harry. Time Turners were destroyed after the Battle of Hogwarts so people wouldn’t be able to go back in time and try to resurrect Voldemort.

Amos Diggory, father of Cedric Diggory, hears of this rumor and begs Harry to bring back his son. After all, according to Amos, it has been Harry’s fault that Cedric was even killed. Albus eavesdrops on that piece of information and decides to do something good, being better than his father who refused to cave in, steals the Time Turner and starts an adventure with Scorpius to bring back Cedric.

Little did they know what kind of effect changes in time can have.

image

Opinion

Wow that has been some kind of plot overview. And what kind of story that has even been. I wasn’t expecting anything, I tried to keep myself out when it came to Cursed Child, to read as neutral as possible. Of course I can’t stay neutral when it comes to Harry Potter, so yeah.

Although I can’t say that I loved this book. Constantly I was thinking Well did I really need to know that piece of information and This is changing the whole Potterworld and my view on it completely! I’m serious, if you loved your childhood heroes, don’t read or watch Cursed Child. If you want to stay in your beautiful Harry Potter bubble, don’t read Cursed Child. If you want your world turned upside down, read about your beloved characters as they have been never that raw before, do it.

I’m still making my mind if I liked this book. At the beginning I seriously hated it because it was so different. I hated it because it was an official Harry Potter book which means, all the things that are happening in there are official. The fact that characters in there behave like I would have never expected it was surprising and to be honest, very difficult for me. It still needs to sink in.

There are some awesome twists in it and some parts where you just want to say “woah” to no one particular because there are parts that lead back to the original Potter parts.You can’t possible hate that. It changes the view on how you were viewing Harry Potter all these years, but in a good way. At least that was my feeling because I also think that these parts were the reason why so many people hated it. That or because they thought they were reading a novel.

Yeah this has been my opinion on Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K.Rowling and Jack Thorne. Have you read the script yet or seen the play? What is your opinion on the story? Stay as spoiler free as possible, thank you 🙂

5 out of 5 stars to Harry Potter and the Cursed Child because I’m a sucker for Harry Potter. Take that, Haters.

xo Annina

Also visit me on FacebookTwitterInstagram and Goodreads 🙂 !

unterschrift

(i) The Amazon Links are affiliated Links. I guessed this was the easiest way to establish a store where you can go and buy a book if you are interested in it plus it makes me literally just some cents. Yes I got greedy and I’m gonna bath in my ten 5 cent pieces. You’re welcome.


The cover is from goodreads.com

3 thoughts on “Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K.Rowling and Jack Thorne

  1. Seriously, I haven’t read it yet due to my uni work that I have to finish first. I don’t know if I want to. But thanks this gave me a lot of information that helps me to make up my mind. I kinda wanna try to read this and see it as an unofficial thing so my little Harry Potter bubble doesn’t get destroyed but let’s get real I will fail at that miserably. After your review I feel like I should read the books again first so I have one last time of them being like it used to be 😂

    However great review, helps me a lot so thank you! (I think I just read it in english maybe that will create a distance considering I read the originals all in german)

    Like

Leave a Reply

