BOOK TALKS

Read in May 2015

read-in-may

Hi guys,

I’m a bit late with that list, but this week has been kind of troublesome, I’ve been in a constant bad mood and dizzy like I’m sure it’s the weather’s fault. Enough complaining, more listing to do!

read-in-may-2016.png

  1. A Brief History Of Time by Stephen Hawking
  2. Fatal Lights by Marie Graßhoff
  3. The Martian by Andy Weir (Full Review)
  4. Fantastic Beats and Where To Find Them by J.K.Rowling
  5. The Elfstones of Shannara by Terry Brooks (Full Review)
  6. More Weird Things Customers Say In Bookshops by Jen Campbell
  7. Black Widow: Forever Red by Margareth Stohl (Full Review)
  8. The Crown by Kiera Cass (Full Review)
  9. The Stranger by Harlan Coben (Full Review)
  10. Touch of Frost by Jennifer Estep

As you can see, I have been busy this month, I even wrote a bunch of reviews! I’m proud of myself. And the secret of reading this much although having a 40h job: reading on the phone while on the train! Easy as that. I have an eReader, but that’s still kinda slow to read since you have to get the Reader out of a bag and I basically never put my phone out of my hands. Because my clothes never have pockets, I swear. I should be more attentive when buying things.

Second secret: if you have time and you want to, you can read a 400 book within a day. If the book is good, you want to do it. You just got to stop thinking about all the other things you have to do – concentrate – and it works.

I’m gonna tell you now a bit about the books I haven’t fully reviewed. There’s mostly a reason behind it.

A Brief History of Time by Stephen Hawking: This has been an absolute great read, but personally so complicated to review because I only could tell you half of it without mixing stuff up. It’s worth a read, from my opinion, because it’s fascinating to read.

Fatal Lights by Marie Graßhoff: This has been such a short read that the review would have been very short as well. Fatal Lights is a spin-off from Kernstaub, a book I did a full review on! It’s about the time right close to the grande war and where it’s almost impossible to find people anymore. You follow two humans who have to stick together to survive together. Or do they have to?
I liked it because Marie Graßhoff’s writing is magical. Put yourself through the 1000 page book, it’s worth it and such an original story, it’s refreshing.

Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them by J.K. Rowling: This book is basically a lexicon of magical creatures. There’s no story behind it except that it has been “written” by Newt Scamander, the person the movie is going to be about. A nice extra has been that there have been little scribbles by Harry and Ron in the book.

More Weird Things Customers Say In Bookshops by Jen Campbell: A collection about dialogues people say in bookshops has been hilarious, yet there has been a lot of Fifty Shades of Grey in it. Yet, I have a thing of ten to say about this book (as in, why are people reading them, I don’t get it) but yeah. It’s obviously been popular the last years. The bookshop book has been fun, would definitely read a sequel.

Touch of Frost by Jennifer Estep: A full review if following, so I’m gonna be short here as well. It’s been a light read, yet interesting since mythologies are getting real here! Just like Percy Jackson, but with more Gossip Girl likeliness. And if you know me then you know that I love Gossip Girl (a few might remember my Gossip Girl breakdown in late 2014 when I discovered the show and got super obsessed with it, good old times). Baaack to the book, loved it, gonna review it since I still got it fresh on my mind!

Popsugar Reading Challenge: 24/40
PRC books read: 15/29
Books read in 2016: 35


BOOKS TO READ IN JUNE 2016

Yes, I’m gonna predict that now. I’m very spontanious when it comes to reading so I wouldn’t be too surprised if I’d read something completely different.

18523028
The Dark Huntsman
by Jessica Aspen: Desperate to save the last of her family from the murderous Faery Queen, Trina Mac Elvy weaves a spell of entrapment. But instead of a common soldier, the queen has released the Dark Huntsman, a full blooded fae with lethal powers. Caged for treason, Logan Ni Brennan, is ready to do anything to win free of the manipulative queen, even if it includes running a last errand for her…murdering a witch. The sight of Trina, ready to fight despite the odds, gives him another option: use the witch as a chess piece, put the queen’s son on the throne, and bring down the queen forever. (After goodreads)

26252859
The Trails of Apollo
by Rick Riordan: I don’t know why I did buy another Rick Riordan novel, apparently I like to torture myself. I started this one too already since I heard that Percy’s gonna be in it and yeah…he’s not gonna be a huge part in this novel. Say 10%. Readers feel that when they read certain things. Why Rick, why tease us with Percy! That’s just mean. This book takes place after the Percy Jackson series and parallel to Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer. The Greek God Apollo has turned into a mortal teenager and got to find his way back to Immortality.

51K3Dti7TpL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_
The Bone Clocks
by David Mitchell:Holly Sykes meets an old women who asks for Asylum to offer a favor in exchange. The 15 year old girl won’t understand for decades what the women meant for her existence. Holly might not lead an unusual life, still weird little events might happen that will spiral her into a murderous feud. Suddenly appearing people, time holes and short reality stops are happening – how much do little actions affect our lives after all? (After Thalia.at)

519ZGRFsSRL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_
The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon
by Stephen King: Trisha, a nine year old girl strays from a path during the hiking trip with her mother and her brother. The only thing she got with her is a portable radio. Trisha is a huge fan of Tom Gordan, a Red Sox relief pitcher. She fantasizes that he will come and save her since her situation seems so desperate. But if only the woods were her only enemy because something dark is following her around. (Partly after goodreads)

Cell_by_Stephen_King
Cell
 by Stephen King: I’m a sucker for Stephen King so these two books are a must to read. Basically because I still have unread Stephen King novels I got for Christmas two years ago. This book is about an apocalypse, caused by cell phones. People who phone, run amok and kill everyone within sight. Clayton Riddell has to find his son who’s still in school to prevent an amok run by his son.

 

Yeah, I think that’s going to be enough books for June since most of them are paperback books are rather difficult to bring along to work.

Have a great day!

xo Annina

Also visit me on Facebook, TwitterInstagram and Goodreads 🙂 !

 

unterschrift


The covers are from goodreads.com

3 thoughts on “Read in May 2015

  1. every time I don’t know what to read I check out your blog and feel bad for reading like one book in May (Me, before you – brilliant btw) so thanks for that. (also I always feel bad for not managing to post stuff as well) love these short review/content showing text you write 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

