Allgemein · REVIEW

Review: Youtuber and their books

YoutuberBooks

Hi guys,

by now I have read a fair share of books written by Youtuber – at least I’ve been told that they have written themselves, one can never be sure. I don’t judge them, writing can be hard!

First of all, have an overview of the books I’ve read by Youtubers. So you know that we are all on the same page.

  1. Girl Online by Zoe Sugg aka Zoella (Full Review)
  2. This Book Is Not On Fire by Dan Howell and Phil Lester
  3. Selp-Helf by Miranda Sings (Full Review)
  4. This Book Loves You by Felix Kjellberg aka PewDiePie
  5. Grace’s Guide: The Art Pretending to be a Grown-Up by Grace Helbig
  6. Binge by Tyler Oakley

Now we got to acknowledge that these books are very different: some are more autobiographical than others, some give more tips and one is a novel altogether. If you are a fan by Youtuber XYZ, then I guess every book by said Youtuber is fine. But if you’re not totally in this world, yet want to read a book by a Youtuber, you can choose by the type of book. Down below I will shortly present each read book. Note that I have said something about This Book Loves You, Grace’s Guide and Binge here already.


 

8287ce87ba6b822d042ea1c769dd4851

Girl Online by Zoe Sugg
Pages: 384
Published On: August 13th 2015
Price: 10,45 €
(Buy On Amazon)

Girl Online is a novel by Zoe Sugg aka Zoella, a Beauty Youtuber. With her, an era of Youtuber books emerged in various kinds. The book is about a young blogger, Penny from Brighton, who’s shy and basically is able to express herself throughout her blog. Online, she feels understood. When on a Christmas trip in New York, she gets to know a musician, who’s by the way famous and learns with him how to let herself be braver. Sometimes you just need a little push : )
I liked this book since it’s been a nice easy read and a novel altogether. Zoe didn’t think of writing an autobiography but to write a story her viewers might want to read. Like her beauty products, but something for the brain this time. Zoe got some hate for this book since she had a ghostwriter, I even didn’t like her for this fact for a while. But I got over it and if you think about it for some time, it makes sense. She’s pretty busy and help can’t hurt, right? Who knows what runs behind the scenes.

4/5 stars.


 

The Amazing Book Is Not On Fire

This Book Is Not On Fire
Pages: 224
Published On: October 8th 2015
Price: 12,95 €
(Buy on Amazon)

Oh my, who knew I would love a Youtuber book this much? It’s colorful, totally Dan and Phil and the quality of it is just nice. Both Youtuber have stories written in it about their past as well as about their success as Youtubers. I should mention just one more time that it’s also written in totally their humor. Awesome for me since I really like watching their videos. And my co-worker has dragged me more into this fandom. Not phandom. No.

5/5 stars.


 

selp helf cover

Selp-Helf
Pages: 240
Published On: July 21st 2015
Price: 20,45 €
(Buy On Amazon)

If you dare. So many people gave this book 5/5 star ratings because it’s so Miranda. Please, even if you like her, please don’t buy it. Read my full review do get to know why I’m saying it. This book doesn’t have any good quality or value. Tips are nice and square, but Selp-Helf is just way too special.

2/5 stars.


 

This book loves you pewdiepie

This Book Loves You
Pages: 256
Published On: October 20th 2015
Price: 11,40 €
(Buy on Amazon)

It’s me, PeeeeewDiePie! If you don’t love this dude, you wouldn’t know what to properly do with this book. Maybe. Well. No, you can read it but you have to like the humor to like this book full of quotes. And quotes only. It definitely has Felix’ humor and style in it, just like Miranda apparently has her style, yet PewDiePie’s book has more value than Miranda’s and that’s making the difference. Plus Pewds has put some fan photos in it, so this is a nice service.

4/5 stars.


 

Grace's Guide Grace Helbig

Grace’s Guide: The Art Pretending To Be A Grown-Up
Pages: 240
Published On: October 14th 2014
Price: 13,95 €
(Buy on Amazon)

Just like mentioned in one of my previous posts, this book is very Grace-like with her humor. Sometimes dead-eye serious, sometimes not so much. I learned that Grace wanted to be in SNL once and I now wish that she’s going to host the show one day. I really hope so because I love SNL and I really want to see Grace in it. The book does not only tell Grace’s story, she also wraps it in tips for people like us. Or less workaholic ones, which made me kind of feel bad that I don’t work 24/7. On the other hand, I need some sanity, since I got not so much left of that. Way to go Grace! (I’m serious)

4/5 stars.


 

Binge Tyler Oakley

Binge
Pages: 256
Published On: October 20th 2015
Price: 15,95 €
(Buy on Amazon)

Yet again, I’m not sure if I’m fine with Tyler anymore. Watching his videos is one thing, but reading this book is a complete different pair of shoes. Probably (now that I’m still thinking of way I didn’t like it that much unless other people) because I see too much of Tyler in myself? Being egoistic as it goes? Probably a little jealous as well, who knows. And it put me off that he put so much relationship stuff in it (yet connecting it with life lessons), as if: Yeah we get it Tyler, good for you. Now please stop talking about your sometimes weird relationship people, that freaks me out. Especially the one with the feet fetish.

It’s been well written though and the pictures Tyler put in supported the story. So I can’t say it’s a bad book in the traditional way, I just probably wasn’t expecting Tyler like this (and I admit I haven’t seen too many of his videos, so all these news might be just new to me).

4/5 stars.


So, that was my list of Youtuber Books I have read so far, Girl Online on Tour is yet on my to-read list. Do you have any other Youtuber Books to recommend? Let me know 🙂

xo Annina

Also visit me on Facebook, TwitterInstagram and Goodreads 🙂 !

Blattzirkus-footer

(i) The Amazon Links are affiliated Links. I guessed this was the easiest way to establish a store where you can go and buy a book if you are interested in it plus it makes me literally just some cents. Yes I got greedy and I’m gonna bath in my 10 5 cent pieces. You’re welcome.

2 thoughts on “Review: Youtuber and their books

  1. I think you have to read Connor Franta’s A Work in Progress. That book is such a masterpiece and it was on NYT Bestseller List for months :)) I made a review about it, so if you want to know, kindly check my blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Will check it out altough I’m not familiar at all with Connor, so reading it would kind of be contraproductive. Thank you for the recommendation though 🙂 And your comment of course!
      xo Annina

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

