Allgemein · BOOK TALKS

Read in January 2016

Hi guys,

wow – the first month of 2016 is already over and a lot has happened in this departement. Not. Kinda. Got a job, had my birthday, cut my hair, caught up with The Walking Dead Comic Book series and so on.

So by now you might have read my book haul of January, if not: here it is. Since it’s February already, I have read some of these books. But later on that in one or two reviews or my monthly Read list.

So here’s my list of books I have read in January 2016!

read in january

  1. The Amazing Book Is Not On Fire by Dan Howell and Phil Lester
  2. Wonder by R.J. Palacio
  3. The Walking Dead Vol. 20 : All Out War Part 1 by Robert Kirkman
  4. Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson
  5. The Walking Dead Vol. 21: All Out War Part 2 by Robert Kirkman
  6. The Walking Dead Vol. 22: Whispers Into Screams by Robert Kirkman
  7. The Walking Dead Vol. 23: A New Beginning by Robert Kirkman
  8. The Walking Dead Vol. 24: Life And Death by Robert Kirkman
  9. The Walking Dead Vol. 25: No Turning Back by Robert Kirkman
  10. Faithful and Virtuous Night by Louise Glück
  11. Selp-Helf by Miranda Sings
  12. Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

 

What I liked to read this month:

I’ve really loved reading The Amazing Book Is Not On Fire by Dan and Phil. If you are only somewhat of a fan of their videos, I’d really recommend reading it. It’s funny and nicely done. You won’t regret buying it.

Also Wonder has been a pleasure to read. Very concerning and very easy to read, since the writing style has been marvelous. It’s also for a younger audience, so that’s why it has been so easy to read.

Dr.Jekyll and Mr.Hyde was on my reading list since I came back from my Scotland trip. Although the book isn’t set in this country, I felt like I could relive the time period simply by thinking of Edinburgh itself. It’s been a nice read, the English was a teeny tiny bit difficult for me but it was alright. I loved to get to know the original story!

To read The Walking Dead comics was good so far. So I got the feeling how the show might continue and to be honest, it just kind of gets downhill for me. Okay, they try to settle down in a very unsafe environment. I’d probably do that too. But for me it’s enraging that they are not even trying to find a cure. I WANT THAT THEY FINALLY ARE LOOKING FOR A CURE SINCE 2 0 1 1. I really want that to happen. I do not want to watch some people struggling with settling down. That might be okay for the comics, but not for the TV Show.

What I thought was okay to read this month:

Faithful and Virtuous Night has been something, either I don’t get poetry very well and understand the style of how it’s written, or it is just how it is: short stories wrapped around a theme.

What I didn’t like to read this month:

Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer was something I hoped was better than expected – but was not. Basically this book tried to be Percy Jackson and the Olympians 2.0 with Percy Jackson references in it. If you read between the lines, it really isn’t a new story except for different gods. Really. By now I don’t even care that the author has blocked me on Twitter since 2010 if his imagination doesn’t reach beyond Percy Jackson. Also, if you try to be a book for middle schooler, why put in freaking THE WALKING DEAD and GAME OF THRONES references?! Not cool.

Last but not least, Selp-Helf by Miranda Sings was more trash than I could take. Here’s my full review on that one.


 

Popsugar Reading Challenge: 11/40
PRC books read: 6/29

Let’s see what February will bring!

xoxoblattzirkus

2 thoughts on “Read in January 2016

Leave a Reply

