BOOK TALKS

Read in AUGUST

Hello guys,

and welcome to my brand new blog! Attempt number 3 it is and I guess that’s a lucky number for me, so here we go.

Today I want to show you the books I read in August and which have been my monthly favorites. Then I’m gonna show you the books I’ve already read in September, since we’re in the middle of it, as a little sneak peek for the post in – oh surprise – September. Maybe you’ve read some of them or have them on your To-Be-Read pile? Let me know!

augustreadfin

1. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith
2. Happy Again by Jennifer E. Smith
3. The Walking Dead Vol. 5 by Robert Kirkman
4. A Dog’s Tale by Mark Twain
5. Gossip Girl – Because I’m Worth It by Cecily von Ziegesar
6. Of Triton by Anna Banks
7. DUFF – Designated Ugly Fat Friend by Kody Keplinger
8. The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides
9. Love Letters To The Dead by Ava Dellaira
10. The Giver by Lois Lowry
11. Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol
12. Leave Your Mark by Aliza Licht
13. Morgentau by Jennifer Wolf

Not to forget, I participated in this year’s #BOOKTUBEATHON and therefore have read Nr. 4 to Nr. 10 within a week.

My favorites of this month have been The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, The Giver and Leave Your Mark.

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight  was a wonderful and cheery book to read, not to forget a bit sad as well. If you like heart-warming stories that will leave you all happy and in a good mood, Jennifer E. Smith is the author of your choice. In my opinion, there should be more stories about people that meet at airports, because airports are still something special and have this far away – travel feeling. And as you guessed, the book is about two teenagers who meet at a airport and things are starting to get complicated.

The Giver is a book that will leave you with a huge cliffhanger and many thoughts to think about. It might be the forerunner of all these dystopian novels these days, but it has still some very unique feeling that you are impossible to ignore. So read it before you watch the movie. It focuses on Jonas and The Giver, who maintains the memories of an early society (much likely to ours). These memories are important to Jonas society because everything there has an order and a purpose (also people get jobs assigned depending on their talents. Or they have to apply for a partner/for kids etc…). The Giver is there to help the heads of society to make important decisions with these early memories.
And of course there’s going to be trouble because Jonas seems to be the only person in his society who gets everything (next to the Giver). So be prepared…

Leave Your Mark was the perfect book to read for my summer break. Simply because it got me motivated and since I had to apply for jobs anyways, the timing couldn’t be better. Aliza Licht describes on how she went under a total change of her carrier path and chose to archive her dream job. With hard work and determination she archived what some of us might be just dreaming about while she actually gets work done. Aliza gives tips on how to write the perfect CV letter, on how you should behave during your job interview, how you should behave while having your internship (and especially how to leave a mark while being the intern!) and how to nail your job and social media. With a mind set like Aliza, nothing seems impossible.

***

Okay, having shown you my books of August 2015 in the middle of September (I’m pretty fast…not), here are some books I’ve already read.

1. It by Stephen King
2. Penryn and the End of Days by Susan Ee
3. Light and Darkness by Laura Kneidl
4. City of the Beasts by Isabel Allende
5. Kingdom of the Golden Dragon by Isabel Allende
6. Forest of the Pygmies by Isabel Allende
7. Girl Online by Zoe Sugg

Who knows what’s next in store for me? We will see in October.

Have a wonderful day!

xo blattzirkus

One thought on “Read in AUGUST

  1. First off… Yay for the blog! I’m happy you made one and that we can get into blogging together 🙂
    I love your first post though it makes me feel bad for not reading enough (you’re so fast, what the hell?). But you really made me curious for some of these books that I definitely want to check out! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

